subscription boxes

OwlCrate – Comic Explosion

owlcrate

I totally forgot about OwlCrate till I saw unboxing pictures on Instagram and I remembered I didn’t receive any notification from Aramex about it while it showed in the tracking number that it arrived two weeks ago so I had to sort it out with them and thankfully they found it and here it is. May theme was Comic Explosion and to be honest I’m not exactly a fan of comics so I wasn’t that excited for this box.

IMG_20170605_004250

Funko POP – Loki

As far as I know 7 comic POPs were sent out in each box, I got Loki. As you know I love collecting Funko POPs so I wouldn’t mind an addition to my ever growing collection.

Wonder Woman Candle by DioCandleCompany

First of all, the words “Adorable Size” just grabbed my attention. The candle scent is inspired by Wonder Woman’s tropical home which smells quite sweet and fruity, I like it.

OwlCrate Zipper Pull and Pin

Both items are exclusive for OwlCrate, both got comic-ish design. Again not exactly my type but they look cool.

Comic Attack Multi Color Pen by Ooly Pen

This pen gave me a nostalgic feeling because I was in love with these pens when I was in school, they made my life easier back then. I love the design of it but I’m going to give it to my sister who studies in college, obviously need it more than me.

IMG_20170605_004354.jpg

AFAR by Leila Del Duca and Kit Seaton

Boetema suddenly develops the ability to astrally project to other worlds, unintentionally possessing the bodies of people light years away. Inotu, her inquisitive brother with a pension for trouble, finds himself on the run after he’s caught eavesdropping on an illegal business deal between small town business tycoons and their cyborg bodyguard. When Boetema accidentally gets someone hurt while in another girl’s body, the siblings are forced to work together to solve the problems they’ve created on their planet and others.

AFAR is a coming-of age fantasy tale about two siblings. Boetema can astrally project, and her brother, Inotu, is forced to grow up when their reckless parents leave to work as salt shepherds. Boetema is tasked with figuring out why she dreams she’s in other people’s bodies, and in doing so, makes matters worse on a planet hundreds of light years away. Inotu struggles to become a confident and supportive brother while they’ve been left alone by their parents. Poor, sleep-deprived, and on the run from a cyborg, the siblings work together to overcome their own personal obstacles, making their way across the desert to the thriving metropolis, Yopan.

So this is an interesting comic, I did’t mind reading it probably going to check the rest of the story but I love the graphics of it.

käfe Organic Coffee Candy

I think this is the first time I receive a food item in a subscription box. I like these candies that you can munch on while watching something or working so I was excited to try them out, they are not as sweet as the coffee candy I’m more used to Kopiko. They are bitter as coffee but sweet at the same time so I enjoyed it.

IMG_20170605_004453

and finally book of the month …

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

I’m already in love with the book from reading the summary, also the cover is beautiful. It has illustrations throughout the book and they are just gorgeous. I can’t wait to start reading this book because I feel it’s going to be my favorite.

As usual it came with a signed bookplate and also a letter from the author, as well as exclusive book-inspired art print which looks amazing.

Overall, yes I’m not a comic fan but I did like some items in this box obviously. I really want to start reading the book right away. Hope you enjoyed this post and have a nice day.

signature

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “OwlCrate – Comic Explosion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s